Client Feedback: ASP-CSP Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their ASP and CSP exams.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the ASP and CSP exams and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

GW

June 18, 2018
I would like to thank the Bowen team for helping me pass both the ASP and the CSP exams. I post my study helps a couple weeks ago when I passed the ASP if you would like to know more. I know I could not have done it without your help in the ASP/CSP Review class and the extra encouragement. I will definitely recommend your courses to others seeking to further their safety education. I also like the extra webcast that you offer as well.

WP

June 18, 2018
Hands down the ASP/CSP prep course was the best tool in my prep toolbox. During the test, I was confident in the majority of my answers and that in itself alleviated test anxiety during the exam. I will say this though...this is not a straight memorization test, you will be presented with a topic and must choose the best answer based on information given. I treated this course as my capstone to studying. What I mean by this is that I used the ASP blueprint provided by the BCSP, ACGIH TLV booklet, OSHA 1910 standards, and the NIOSH pocket guide. This prep course with watching the lectures, doing the homework and reading the corresponding chapters in the Yates Safety Professional book really tied all of this stuff together for me. Last note, read the questions carefully. During my first glance at the question, I felt I could narrow the potential right choices down to two options. I then would reread the question and look for the stem words described by the course and usually a choice would just seem right. Almost like it was a 3 D hologram screaming at me (I am the right choice). Then there were the ones I just didn't know. Made a selection and moved on. Saved all the math problems for the end and the questions were straightforward, I just didn't remember all the math we learned so had to guess on a few of those as well.

BH

June 15, 2018
Thank you Bowen EHS for the fantastic review course, it really helped me on my path to achieving the CSP certification. One test down, one to go! Your expertise is much appreciated!

MM

June 9, 2018
I passed the ASP! The Bowen ASP CSP Review course and resources truly prepared me for the exam. Thank you!

TT

June 2, 2018
Hi everyone, I wrote my CSP exam today and passed. I want to thank the Bowen team, the prep course was very useful. I was stressed before the exam because of the math and thought it would be hard but with adequate study time and the right resources, I felt confident at the end of the exam when I hit the submit button. I used Bowen's CSP prep course and tried to listen to the recording whenever I could. For example when I'm traveling for work, etc. Other resources I used was the Brauer text book. The main thing that helped the most was doing the practices question over and over again. I used a variety of questions from Bowen, SPAN, and DataChem. During the exam you can bring 2 calculators, I brought the TI-30 that came with the Bowen prep and a financial calculator HP10BII (it came in handy for engineering economy questions). Don't be discouraged about math! Just practice the question, take a dive and do the exam, it's not as bad as you think! Good luck to everyone writing in the future!

GW

May 15, 2018
I passed the ASP exam! Yea!!! Some of these posts helped me, so I thought that I would share my study experience. Maybe this might help someone else. First of all, I participated in every Bowen ASP-CSP class session. Most of them I reviewed again to make sure that I understood the topics well. Once the classes were over, I discovered and did the practice quizzes about 30 times (no exaggeration) until I was continually getting 80% to 90%. I also purchased and studied the "ASP Safety Fundamentals Exam" by Mometrix. This also had 200 exam questions that I copied and cut into strips that I used as flashcards. I carried them with me with a rubber band, so I could study them while I had a few minutes. I went over those questions at least 15 times. This was a big help as well. I also purchased the BCSP practice exam. They only give you 100 questions, but it gives you an idea as to how the questions are written on the exam. I got to where I was getting around 95% of the questions right after about 10 to 15 times. I looked at the ASP Blueprint. It didn't help. The only thing I got out of it was that you had to know everything. I scheduled the exam 6 weeks after the last Bowen class. There were not very many days available. I studied almost every night for those 6 weeks. I was not going to say, "I should have studied harder". I couldn't! I did not know what else I could do. I was burned out from studying. I suggest that everyone take the exam within a month of completing the Bowen class.

KW

May 1, 2018
I still can't believe it but I passed my ASP examination today. I was positive when the proctor handed me the results form, that it would say that I had failed. Other people's posts helped me prepare for the exam, so I thought I would share my experience as well. My study plan involved reading both the Brauer and Yates books cover to cover. I highlighted anything that seemed important enough to know. I then used the ASP exam blueprint to see what chapter's correlated to the exam. For each topic that would be covered on the exam, I typed out everything I had highlighted in the books. I took the BowenEHS ASP practice tests about 50 times and attended some of the online study sessions. I then ordered the ASP Self-Assessment book. I felt very confident that reading these books, using the BowenEHS website, and completing the self-assessment would have me fully prepared for the test. However, I felt the information covered in the exam was night and day compared to the questions asked in the self-assessment. Good luck to everyone! Thank you BowenEHS!

TK

April 30, 2018
I passed the CSP!!  I've got 20+ years in the EHS field and should have taken my CSP long ago, but things come up. This was my first attempt and significant studying was required. I didn't want to confidentially say to myself after the test that, well I probably could have studied harder. That really wouldn't have been possible. My only resource, besides experience, was the Bowen CSP class and materials - thanks, Russ!! I can appreciate the feedback from others who have posted in this forum because it helped me get a feel for the experience, so I'm trying to return the favor. Let me tell you, folks, this test is hard! As Russ mentioned often, time management is core and this is absolutely true. It took me the full 5.75 hrs. to complete the 200 questions and the (ridiculously hard) math problems I saved until the end. I guessed on- just under the bell. Interestingly there were only a few math based questions and formulas were given for all; so much for memorizing 5 pages of formulas. What makes the test so hard is the questions and the answers are long and complex and I would have to re-read some 3, 4 or even 5 times to process all the information before I could make a sound selection. Your brain will be mush by the end of the exam. My experience was similar to a previous poster in that, when I walked out of the room the proctor handed me a folded piece of paper and when I saw Result: PASS, I didn't have words to describe it, the feeling was overwhelming!! So, again as Russ said several times, just take the exam, don't put it off. So don't get discouraged, commit to a study plan and learn the material and you too will ace this exam - good luck!

LK

April 25, 2018
Russ, Good news again - I passed the CSP yesterday - so glad to have both the ASP and CSP completed. Your course and resources helped me prepare and be successful. I am probably not the typical student since I have an MS in IH and PhD in Safety - am a professor at Oregon State University and am a new member of the ACGIH physical agents TLV committee. I am on sabbatical this year and had always wanted to pursue getting the CSP but never had the time, so it was nice to be able to get back to the basics and remind myself all the topics I should be sure to include in the various course I teach for undergraduates and graduate students here in Oregon. Anyway, I enjoyed your course and you are a great teacher - thanks!

SC

April 21, 2018
I passed the CSP Exam! Please thank the CSP instructor for the great class. Once again, I only used your materials to pass the exam. I have been recommending your review classes to all my former coworkers. For me, I couldn't have passed the CIH or CSP exams without your classes because I wouldn't know how to start studying. I needed a focused online course that was real time so I can ask questions. I have very limited time to study, so your courses were perfect.

MG

April 19, 2018
I passed the CSP today. Thanks to the Bowen team once again first the CIH and now the CSP!!! I got to tell you I am not sure what I did because my confidence flew out the window after the first hour and I was sure I was going to have to take that exam again once I hit submit, but no, the certificate came back Congratulations you PASS!!! CSP Baby!!! Very excited!! Good luck to all the other candidates. You can do it.

JT

April 19, 2018
I am so happy to have passed the ASP exam. This was my second attempt. I really was weak in math but I took the Algebra ll class and finished a couple of weeks ago. The first time I took the exam my calculator was on mathprint for some time and several problems in before I realized it. I identified my weakness via the first try and focused on the math and management which were my weakest areas. Today, I felt confident and nervous at the same time. Afterward, when I left the testing area the gentleman from the front desk was standing there with a folded paper in hand. I just knew he was hiding that I did not quite make it for the second time. I took the sheet and opened it! You Passed! in bold letters made my knees weak and my eyes filled with tears of joy. WOW! what a feeling. Thanks Russ.