Client Feedback: ASP®-CSP® Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their ASP® and CSP® exams.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the ASP® and CSP® exams and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

MM

August 26, 2019
I am thrilled to say I am finally a CSP after passing the exam. I took the ASP/CSP prep course with Patrick as my instructor. He did a phenomenal job with the course. I will say it took me multiple times to pass both the ASP and CSP, but at the end of the day, all that counts is that you pass. I want to say to anyone who has taken the exam and did not pass the first time, or to anyone who is about to take the ASP and/or CSP. DO NOT GIVE UP. It will all be worth it once you get that passing score. Thanks again to Russ and Patrick for all the help you provided throughout the course and even after the course was completed. I will highly recommend the Bowen Prep Course to anyone taking the exams.

DS

August 23, 2019
Passed the ASP exam today. Registering for the CSP now! A big shout out to Pat for all the help! Great course. On a side note, my wife was a big fan of your jokes :)

AY

August 5, 2019
I completed the summer ASP-CSP course and thank you, Pat, for a great course! I studied the Brauer and Yates' reference books and completed numerous 10 and 50 question quizzes. As others have already mentioned, make sure you understand the concepts well. Also, one doesn't have to get every question correct as there were questions/topics I had not seen in my work experience or study. Many of the questions are longer than the practice quizzes. My brain was fatigued during the 4th hour so make sure you consider that when going through the exam. You will never feel totally prepared so just go ahead and jump in and take the exam. Worst case scenario is you have to retake it after 6 weeks. Good luck to everyone!

TS

August 2, 2019
I feel happy and grateful saying that 10 months after starting the 2018-10 ASP-CSP Online Review, I have earned my CSP.  I earned the ASP back in June. Passing both of these tests, let alone even sitting for them, to begin with, was facilitated by the strategic and thoughtful instruction of Patrick Lee and Russ Bowen. Thank you both, (and everyone at Bowen EHS) so very much for your dedication and enthusiastic teaching! I primarily made use of the classroom materials and the ASP/CSP app for the bulk of my studying and passed both tests on the first go around. Admittedly, a fair number of the questions on the CSP exam were beyond the precise scope of the coursework, but even for many of these, given the robust background of safety topics and specifics that we covered, I felt confident in my ability to work out the answers to much what I hadn't directly been exposed to just yet. So, strategically, this course really worked for me! I also have to say that it was a lot of fun learning or relearning all of the various safety topics out there. I feel like I have been exposed to a bunch of different languages, and I am now more proficient in each of them than I was before. Do I feel like the coursework and earning the ASP and CSP have turned me into the ultimate safety guru? No!  But I do feel like what I have learned, and what I have accomplished has made me feel significantly more confident in my ability to both know my current limits, and also to move more boldly into more challenging safety work, knowing that I have a good baseline foundation upon which to build. And it was fun to do these courses from home or from whatever coffee shop or hotel room I could get myself to so that I could join up with the bi-weekly online formula gym!

MO

July 19, 2019
Passed my ASP exam! So excited! Thanks Russ & Bowen EHS for the great online courses and resources. 

AT

July 16, 2019
I would like to just share that Bowen, especially Will and Nicole, were instrumental in my success of procuring my CSP. Thank you, Bowen! Another happy customer. I achieved both certifications (CIH and CSP) with the help of Bowen. For those taking it, don't fear. If you stay with your studies, do all the questions, use all your resources (including the phone app), you should be fine. Follow all the advice provided (rest, eat well, etc.) because they do help. Anyway, thank you very much and good luck for those who will be taking the exam. Also, special thanks to Russ!

KW

June 27, 2019
I passed my CSP exam this morning! Just want to say thank you to Bowen EHS and Will for preparing me with CSP prep course. It really did help me along the way. The use of the Bowen EHS CSP course, Bowen EHS practice exams, and DataChem really aided in my preparation for the test. So relieved!

JT

June 26, 2019
No doubt the ASP Prep course (March-April 2019) played a major role in helping me pass the ASP exam. Took me a total of 4 hours. I had several typical math/science based questions in total. Like others have stated on this forum, heavy on the safety/management systems and/or theories, ergo, and a smattering of occupational health. I mainly used the course, Bowen flashcards, the Brauer book and completed numerous practice quizzes/tests. Thanks Russ for the great course and superb resources!

TB

June 20, 2019
Thanks to Russ and Mike and Will Pate for their excellent instruction and support in the two online courses I enrolled in, ASP-CSP 2017 and ASP 2019. I passed the CSP exam, first try. What a journey: been working on this since the spring of 2017 and reached the top of the mountain this morning. Now on to CHMM.  My study routine after passing the ASP six weeks ago was quite different. Along with re-listening to all the lectures and re-doing CSP practice exams (mainly to practice on the math), ASP 2019 homework assignments, and doing the CSP self-assessment (some of the references for the questions were from sources NOT on the BCSP reference blueprint), I did a deep dive on the BCSP's examination reference sheet on the domains and the blueprint on the references and acquired and bought several books to get really into the weeds. All in all, I gleaned a lot of great in-depth safety system and management knowledge (Dan Peterson is a pioneer in safety and really enjoy his expertise) and insight but feel in the end it didn't really transfer over to better exam preparation as far as seeing anything I recognized. In some way, I thought I would see some question from one of the reference books and say I recognize that, but that didn't happen. For the books, I didn't read each book word per word: just did scans of them, some more than others. To close: the online Bowen EHS courses are fantastic to cover all the topics and get the mind, and blood, going on the breadth of information on these exams. Really money, and time, well spent :) Great curriculum.

LH

May 11, 2019
I’d like to say thank you to the Bowen staff for their part in helping me dial-in my CSP prep. Online test prep of any kind can be a precarious thing; you make a financial commitment and put your faith in someone else’s curriculum. In this case however, my online review gave me the direction and, perhaps more importantly, the peace of mind I needed to sit poised in the testing center this morning. I was ASP-exempt courtesy of my CP-12. Still, I chose to register for the combination ASP-CSP review to help diversify my prep. I suspected because the combination course was longer (8 weeks) I wasn’t really giving up much of the CSP domain-oriented material. Of course, I’m glad I got to absorb the ASP content (it came in handy); it was an exceptional learning opportunity for any practitioner but, the amount of safety management and training related material that we covered and what CSP exam-takers need was noteworthy. I was very pleased overall. Aside the course, my prep included the app, my own flash cards, and plenty of practice quizzes. Good luck, all!

KC

May 10, 2019
Passed the ASP today after completing the ASP online review just 2 weeks ago. Mostly reviewed the class material, tests, and purchased the BCSP self-assessment module. Not much more than that. Bowen, keep up the good work!

TB

May 8, 2019
Thank you, Russ. You, Will, and Mike and the whole Bowen EHS team were a tremendous help and are THE source for certification study and education. I look forward to staying with Bowen EHS maybe pursuing CHMM after the CSP.