Client Feedback: ASP®-CSP® Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their ASP® and CSP® exams.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the ASP® and CSP® exams and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

MM

February 1, 2019
I passed the ASP this and I couldn't think Pat and Russ enough for the help and support throughout the course and study prep. This was my 3rd time taking the exam (once before the prep course and another time in the middle of the prep course). I would recommend finishing the prep course all the way through before taking the exam, as I felt fully prepared today. Now on to the CSP. Thank again Pat and Russ!

RA

January 4, 2019
I am so excited to share that I passed the ASP today on my first try! I finished the ASP-CSP Prep Course in December 2018. I was super nervous but found that the course had me completely ready. As I needed help with math and calculations, I did lots of practice in those areas. I used the Bowen EHS online quizzes and practice tests to prepare along with my notes from the course. I was pleasantly surprised to find that there was not as much math as I expected. There were a couple of tricky ones (ideal gas law is my eternal struggle) but nothing I freaked out about. I followed Russ's strategy for test taking and had plenty of time. I even finished about 20 minutes early because I was afraid that I would overthink some of the questions that I probably answered correctly the first time through. :) Thank you, Russ, for such a great course! Now on to the CSP!

JP

December 13, 2018
Passed CSP exam and very thankful to my employer paying for ASP/CSP Bowen online review course and to Bowen EHS for providing free weekly ASP/CSP practice questions. As previously mentioned, there was less math, but, a lot of Safety Management scenarios, BCSP Ethics questions, and a few occupational health questions. Good luck to all taking exams. It's a lot of studying/preparation, but, it's worth it.

BD

December 11, 2018
Just took my CSP and I passed! Thank you to Bowen, the course was definitely helpful in preparing me for the test. I found on my test, there was significantly less math than I expected, and more safety management and system safety-based questions. Also be sure to know and understand the BCSP Code of Ethics. Good luck to everyone else who still has to take the exam!

RG

November 18, 2018
I passed the CSP yesterday after finishing the Bowen CSP Prep course on Thursday. I do not recommend scheduling the exam without at least a 2-week gap after the end of the prep course. I felt that I needed more time to prepare. The Bowen EHS course helped a lot. I would not have gotten questions on liability, safety management systems, the role of front-line supervision on safety, and ventilation correct without the prep course. I did not read any of the recommended texts, but I did complete the BCSP Self Assessment, which included several questions that were on the exam. If I was going to study again, I'd focus on risk assessment tools (FMEA, Fault Tree Analysis, Life Cycle Analysis, etc.), IH, reliability, statistics/probability, and management systems. Thanks to Bowen and especially William Pate, a great instructor for the CSP Prep Course!

JP

October 23, 2018
I passed the CSP today. I utilized the full 330 minutes. Study material included Bowen course, Bowen practice questions, CSP Pocket prep app and last minute picked up the Mometrix flash cards. Text material included Yates and Brauer.  Hazardous materials, legislation and fall protection questions were many but this exam focused more on management aspects in comparison to the ASP. Thank you Russ and your team for the support. I’m definitely relieved this is over good luck to all preparing to sit the exam. 

TB

August 23, 2018
Passed the CSP a month after ASP! My overall impression of the CSP was that it is more difficult than the ASP. ASP seemed pretty straightforward with simple answers. The CSP had numerous scenario questions and very little math. I reviewed the PowerPoint from the course, used the CSP pocket app, and tried the self-assessment quiz from the BCSP. My personal opinion is that the CSP is more application than the ASP.   

SJ

August 9, 2018
I went on the Air Force Safety Forum and posted your website link as the go-to study material for the ASP-CSP. I think the course you put together is great and I will be sure to pass it along to others as I go through my career. Thank you for putting in the time and effort to make this course, otherwise, I'd have been fighting in the trenches on that test. Cheers.

RC

August 1, 2018
I just want to follow-up and let everyone know that I sat for and passed the CSP exam. I felt well prepared for the exam and had a good idea of what to expect thanks to the ASP-CSP Review course. As for the test, some of the topics on it were not expected (Hazmat shipping, Hazardous wastes, environmental fates) and other were exactly what you would think would be on the exam. When it came to the math based questions, it was hit or miss as to if you were provided the equations. and if they were provided, they were not always in a format similar to what is on the BCSP equation sheet. Additionally, a lot of the math that I had was not covered in the course.

BH

August 1, 2018
I wanted to say THANK YOU for your wealth of information and training! The online course was amazing and the resources Bowen EHS offers to prepare for the ASP and CSP have been unbelievably helpful! I really appreciate all of the support in achieving my CSP!  What an experience...and I'm glad Bowen EHS was part of it.  

RN

July 23, 2018
I know you keep stats of students that pass exams. I took your ASP/CSP class back in 2012! Yeah, life gets in the way, and I didn't sit for my ASP exam until last Saturday. I still had all the materials from your class and used them to study. Well, I passed! I plan to go for the CSP soon, I want to ride the ASP high for a little bit ;). Thanks for a good product.

FL

July 18, 2018
Thank you, Bowen EHS for helping me pass the CSP Exam! Taking that test took a lot of mental stamina, and I used a lot of the advice received from Bowen EHS! Here are some things that really helped me. I purchased the BCSP assessment. I did not add any new material the week before the exam and instead focused on what I already learned. I called the test center with questions a few days before the exam to reduce anxiety (parking, earplugs, calculator, etc.). I tried to have a good night's sleep two nights before the exam (I did not get a good rest the night before). I ate oatmeal for breakfast the day of the exam :-)!  I remembered during the exam that you may not know everything, so guess, move on, and aim for the 99 correct out of 175 (that is about 57%!). I skipped the math problems and the questions that looked like it would take more than 40 seconds to answer the first time. I took a break about half-way through the exam, which helped me when I was feeling "burned out". Good luck to everyone who is scheduled/planning to take their test soon!