Client Feedback: ASP®-CSP® Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their ASP® and CSP® exams.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the ASP® and CSP® exams and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

TH

February 21, 2019
To all preparing for the exam.......you can do this! Passed the CSP exam just recently. I have Bowen to thank for the preparation on many levels. My initial introduction was with Mike Eden ASP/CSP Review in winter of 2015 (passed the ASP in 2016) and with Will in Spring of 2018 for CSP review. Many thanks, Mike and Will! Bowen helped me focus on and retain concepts. Math has never been my strong suit and Bowen prepared me enough to pass. I'm an older Safety professional and should have had these certifications under my belt long ago, family, coaching sports with and w/o my kids, running a consulting business (and procrastination) were all good excuses. Being able to review the Bowen materials when I had made up my mind that I was going to take the test helped greatly with both tests. In terms of info on the test....the recent previous advice of others on the Bowen EHS forums will serve you well. I also prepared with the BCSP self-assessments. I had an older version from November of 2014 and the present self-assessment offering were both worth reviewing. Thanks again, Russ, Mike and Will.

JL

February 15, 2019
I took the CSP exam and passed. Wanted to thank Russ and his team for their assistance. After many years in the field, it was interesting to learn more broadly the areas of EHS, which was my intent besides the credential itself. Although for the week prior I was not liking it too much, I just wanted to get it over with, ha. I had a couple of questions exactly from this course. There were very detailed questions about the ear, like someone else mentioned. Stuff that an ear doctor would study I imagine. There is a chance these are pilot questions for an upcoming specialty cert. on hearing conservation or something similar; due to the current + upcoming generations expected prevalence of hearing loss due to technology, etc. Just my opinion. Thanks all and good luck.

MM

February 1, 2019
I passed the ASP this and I couldn't think Pat and Russ enough for the help and support throughout the course and study prep. This was my 3rd time taking the exam (once before the prep course and another time in the middle of the prep course). I would recommend finishing the prep course all the way through before taking the exam, as I felt fully prepared today. Now on to the CSP. Thank again Pat and Russ!

RA

January 4, 2019
I am so excited to share that I passed the ASP today on my first try! I finished the ASP-CSP Prep Course in December 2018. I was super nervous but found that the course had me completely ready. As I needed help with math and calculations, I did lots of practice in those areas. I used the Bowen EHS online quizzes and practice tests to prepare along with my notes from the course. I was pleasantly surprised to find that there was not as much math as I expected. There were a couple of tricky ones (ideal gas law is my eternal struggle) but nothing I freaked out about. I followed Russ's strategy for test taking and had plenty of time. I even finished about 20 minutes early because I was afraid that I would overthink some of the questions that I probably answered correctly the first time through. :) Thank you, Russ, for such a great course! Now on to the CSP!

JP

December 13, 2018
Passed CSP exam and very thankful to my employer paying for ASP/CSP Bowen online review course and to Bowen EHS for providing free weekly ASP/CSP practice questions. As previously mentioned, there was less math, but, a lot of Safety Management scenarios, BCSP Ethics questions, and a few occupational health questions. Good luck to all taking exams. It's a lot of studying/preparation, but, it's worth it.

BD

December 11, 2018
Just took my CSP and I passed! Thank you to Bowen, the course was definitely helpful in preparing me for the test. I found on my test, there was significantly less math than I expected, and more safety management and system safety-based questions. Also be sure to know and understand the BCSP Code of Ethics. Good luck to everyone else who still has to take the exam!

RG

November 18, 2018
I passed the CSP yesterday after finishing the Bowen CSP Prep course on Thursday. I do not recommend scheduling the exam without at least a 2-week gap after the end of the prep course. I felt that I needed more time to prepare. The Bowen EHS course helped a lot. I would not have gotten questions on liability, safety management systems, the role of front-line supervision on safety, and ventilation correct without the prep course. I did not read any of the recommended texts, but I did complete the BCSP Self Assessment, which included several questions that were on the exam. If I was going to study again, I'd focus on risk assessment tools (FMEA, Fault Tree Analysis, Life Cycle Analysis, etc.), IH, reliability, statistics/probability, and management systems. Thanks to Bowen and especially William Pate, a great instructor for the CSP Prep Course!

JP

October 23, 2018
I passed the CSP today. I utilized the full 330 minutes. Study material included Bowen course, Bowen practice questions, CSP Pocket prep app and last minute picked up the Mometrix flash cards. Text material included Yates and Brauer.  Hazardous materials, legislation and fall protection questions were many but this exam focused more on management aspects in comparison to the ASP. Thank you Russ and your team for the support. I’m definitely relieved this is over good luck to all preparing to sit the exam. 

TB

August 23, 2018
Passed the CSP a month after ASP! My overall impression of the CSP was that it is more difficult than the ASP. ASP seemed pretty straightforward with simple answers. The CSP had numerous scenario questions and very little math. I reviewed the PowerPoint from the course, used the CSP pocket app, and tried the self-assessment quiz from the BCSP. My personal opinion is that the CSP is more application than the ASP.   

SJ

August 9, 2018
I went on the Air Force Safety Forum and posted your website link as the go-to study material for the ASP-CSP. I think the course you put together is great and I will be sure to pass it along to others as I go through my career. Thank you for putting in the time and effort to make this course, otherwise, I'd have been fighting in the trenches on that test. Cheers.

RC

August 1, 2018
I just want to follow-up and let everyone know that I sat for and passed the CSP exam. I felt well prepared for the exam and had a good idea of what to expect thanks to the ASP-CSP Review course. As for the test, some of the topics on it were not expected (Hazmat shipping, Hazardous wastes, environmental fates) and other were exactly what you would think would be on the exam. When it came to the math based questions, it was hit or miss as to if you were provided the equations. and if they were provided, they were not always in a format similar to what is on the BCSP equation sheet. Additionally, a lot of the math that I had was not covered in the course.

BH

August 1, 2018
I wanted to say THANK YOU for your wealth of information and training! The online course was amazing and the resources Bowen EHS offers to prepare for the ASP and CSP have been unbelievably helpful! I really appreciate all of the support in achieving my CSP!  What an experience...and I'm glad Bowen EHS was part of it.