Client Feedback: CIH Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their CIH exam.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the CIH exam and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

TG

June 3, 2018
It is indeed a tough test! I used DataChem CIH software religiously every day for almost a year, for at least 2 hours a day. Take practice tests. I printed out the Bowen CIH questions and put them onto flash cards. I played the Bowen CIH game 2 to 4x a day; strive for 100%. I purchased the AIHA "Industrial Hygiene Reference and Study Guide. Read this book every chance you get and memorize the content, as much as you can. Know this book and Ace the test!! I took the Bowen online CIH class and then immediately took the classroom CIH version. Difficult topics become more transparent in the classroom. Read the ACGIH TLV book; know the TLV's of common toxicants [benzene, lead, etc] but read [and re-read] the Definitions and Notations section!!!! Know your strengths and weaknesses. My strengths were chemistry, noise, bio-hazards, and PPE; my weaknesses were radiation and ventilation. Bowen will help with both of these topics. I passed ASP, CSP and CIH first time because I was extremely well prepared. I used Bowen for all three tests. It is the Boy Scout motto: Be Prepared!!!!!!!!!!

KM

May 17, 2018
I passed! :) I cannot emphasize enough how valuable Bowen has been throughout the past few months (both the class and the premium resources). Although I took the CIH prep class in the summer of 2016, I didn’t actually start studying/preparing until January of this year and I can’t imagine how much more challenging it would have been without these resources to help keep me on track! Russ, thank you so much for putting together such a great course and study materials that made such a massive challenge be achievable and also for making me a better IH! Thanks also to Rick and Otto if they’re still out there! :)

JL

May 15, 2018
Thank you so much, Russ. I remember having some hesitation before signing up due to cost. I had already spent several hundred dollars on application fees, resources, and Datachem access. But in hindsight, your course was worth it! The study materials, quizzes, app, etc was my go-to for about 70% of my study time. If others ask, I will strongly recommend your course. It helps with the consolidation of resources and helps maximize your study time. One CIH recommended that I read Fundamentals of Industrial Hygiene cover-to-cover but I rarely learn that way. Thanks again!

KG

December 4, 2017
I posted before that I passed. What I didn't say was that this was my fourth attempt. My first was in 1996. That's right, when it was a two-day exam in a giant ballroom full of tables and people. I did not prepare very well (cocky) and did not fair well (oops). I was so upset that my next attempt was in 2006. Again I thought I now had 10 more years of experience and it was only a "short" exam on a computer now... how hard could it be... HARD!!!! Again scored a 64 with 66 being a passing score. Had I matured over the years? Of course..... not.... my next attempt was 2016. This time I knew it would be hard and I planned to study. I took a one-week crash course cram session three months before the exam. After the class, I realized how much I didn't know and the class offered no continuing support. I tried to study on my own, and three weeks before my exam date I had an emergency appendectomy and ended up scoring a 65, with passing being again 66. UGH!!!!! Then I was introduced to BOWEN. Here the class work being spread out over the 8-week period allowing for study, practice, questions, and commiseration with all of you and fostered a great atmosphere to prepare. Russ gave great advice on how to prepare and what to study.. You won't learn it by osmosis, you have to work at it. but the class structure, continuing study sessions, forums, practice questions, etc. gave me exactly what I needed to prepare, work hard, talk to you great people, and finally PASS!!!! THANK YOU ALL!!!!  and for those who didn't make it this time.... take it from me, you will make it. Just don't wait 10 years till your next attempt.

RR

December 1, 2017
The course was super helpful for narrowing my study to only the topics that mattered. As always, practice exams are very important - maybe even more important that review material. They helped me gauge my weaknesses and focus my study. The Bowen practice questions were similar in content, difficulty, and style to the real thing. Needless to say, I passed!
ERAU

DB

November 30, 2017
I passed [the CIH exam] and I wanted to say thanks so much for everything Russ. Your course was an amazing investment, and it really helped me understand what I needed to know. This is also my first online live course, and I was a little skeptical at first, and I think courses like this can only work when you have a dedicated instructor - which Russ is.  I also appreciate everyone in the forums posting all your questions and generating your discussions. Some of those materials really helped me a lot. This was a good experience for me. 

CH

November 29, 2017
A huge thank you to Russ for providing me with the fundamental resources in which to build upon in my preparation for the CIH exam. I had seen a post stating that someone felt that the Bowen CIH course only represented about 10% of their actual exam. I find this hard to believe as a recent successful candidate. Russ said himself, that the course is not the be all end all in preparing for the exam, however, it will get you pretty darn close, the rest is up to you. I promise you that is true if you fully comprehend the material that Russ has provided you with. My goal was to pass on the first try; therefore I put in around 1,200 hours of preparation for the exam dating back to February 2017. I truly appreciate his product. He has dedicated his career to advancing our profession and helping to create a better-rounded safety professional. Whether it is the CHMM, CSP or CIH, there are many professionals in our industry with credentials that can be tied back to Bowen EHS. If you effectively utilize all of the resources that he offers you will be very close to passing your exams, the last little bit to get over the threshold is still up to you.

AT

November 28, 2017
I would like to say THANK YOU VERY MUCH to Russ, Nikki and the Bowen Staff for helping me and being patient with me when I was preparing for this very challenging exam. It was definitely a humbling experience. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without them and my very supportive, smart, funny and patient study buddies. For those who are going to be taking this exam...I cannot stress enough how instrumental the Bowen material (lectures, study session, practice quizzes, posted material, etc.) was to my success in passing this exam. Follow everything Russ says...from what to read and what flashcards to make, how frequent to study, to resting before the test. For the actual test, I skipped all the math and did them at the end. It’s very effective. Thank you again for this experience.

TW

November 28, 2017
I joined the happy alumni who have now achieved the Preliminary Pass result on my exam. It was a good feeling. This time around, I knew it. I wasn't even nervous as I waited for the final result when I clicked the button (OK maybe just a tiny bit). I thank Russ and the entire Bowen team for standing behind me, helping me study and study some more, encouraging me, and everyone in the study groups for each exam. I couldn't have done it without all of your support, I'm sure. Part of me feels like I should have passed a year ago, right after I took this Bowen prep course. I missed passing by 1.2%, probably 2 questions. Disappointing, but I studied hard again for the spring exam. That one I missed by 0.6%, probably 1 question. That one was hard to take. But I'm resilient, so I picked myself up and tried again. Good luck to all of you, and a sincere thank-you to Russ and all of the Bowen team.

CH

November 27, 2017
I took you prep class this fall (well the one that started in July) and received a preliminary pass after the exam. I wanted to thank you and your staff for all the help and guidance. It wouldn’t have been possible without you all.

AS

November 27, 2017
Got my letter saying that I passed the CIH exam! Thanks for the help Russ and everybody! Good luck to those who still need to take the test! Radiation and Thermal Stressors/ Ergonomics gave me the most trouble.

BM

November 22, 2017
Hi Russ, Just wanted to let you know that I PASSED my CIH test! Woo! Hoo! I took your class last fall and almost passed. I took the class again this year. I only studied your material and made sure I could score at least an 80 on each practice test over and over and over. I probably studied/practiced/reviewed everything at least 15-20 hours per week for 2.5 months. I also worked the previous practice questions you supply us as well in the additional resources section. My perception of the test was that there were not as many problems requiring the use of the formula sheets, however, when there were, I could work those problems. There were a lot of questions you had to think about the answer, but I believe the information you provided in the online class covered most of it. I am very happy that I passed! Thank you so much for your class and teaching!