Client Feedback: CIH Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their CIH exam.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the CIH exam and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

JL

November 5, 2018
Finished taking my CIH test today and received a preliminary pass! A lot of the comments I have been reading I found useful. What I will say is if you follow the rubric and study what your predecessors are telling you, may be a good idea and you should be fine. I put in between 2-3 hours a day for 8 weeks, and prior to that, I spent weekdays studying. Bowen quiz and practice questions have been invaluable to my progress. I also used the ACGIH IH calculations book, Quantitative IH book by Jack C ACGIH (great book, just doesn't present the questions in the same format as Bowen), did not use Datachem. If you understand how to manipulate the equations and have a good understanding of algebra I think you will do just fine on the math portion. At the end of the day, it's what we put into it that matter, you put the work in or you don't. Prepare like it's something you will only do once and you will be rewarded.  Thanks for everything Russ, I don't think I would have been as prepared as I would if not for your entire platform: class, study guides, quizzes, references, etc. 

CF

October 30, 2018
I just took the CIH exam and got a preliminary pass. Here is my take on it. I think the Bowen course is great and if you are very familiar and comfortable with it you would be fine. I had also studied with Datachem and I think it is not really useful because the questions are much more complicated than the test. I feel like the calculations are very simple in the test. If I had to study for it again I would concentrate on the TLV book, toxicology and the Bowen course.Good Luck to everyone taking it in November!

DO

October 29, 2018
I took the CIH exam today and got that green checkmark! Thank you, Russ, for once again playing such a key role in my success! Thanks to you I've passed the ASP, CSP, and CIH all on the first pass. As others have done, I'll leave a few things for those who will be taking the exam soon...I spent about 4 months studying ~2 hours/day. I took the Bowen CIH mini (50 question) exam about 20 times during my 4 months and averaged low 80s. I took dozens of the 5-question exams in chem/basic science and radiation (my weak points). In retrospect, I wish I hadn't spent so much time studying the really difficult math problems since I found that the actual exam math problems were fairly straight-forward. I found the William Burgess book "Recognition of Health Hazards in Industry" to be extremely helpful. I didn't bother with the nitty-gritty within the book and only took out those golden nuggets that highlighted important information for the hygienist and seemed like good exam questions. I accompanied this book by watching YouTube videos on various processes like electroplating, iron and steel production, semiconductor production, degreasing, etc. I also used Quizlet CIH Tox cards that others have made. Good luck everyone! You can do this!

JG

October 12, 2018
I just finished taking the CIH exam today, and boy was I relieved/excited/overwhelmed to see the big green circle indicating a preliminary pass, especially since this was my first time taking it. Thank you to the entire Bowen team, and more importantly, to all the users for their input in forums, past study sessions, etc. All of it was beneficial and instrumental to my success today. I wish everyone else all the best of luck.

AT

October 1, 2018
I passed (the CIH exam)! Thank you so much for making this possible. This was my 2nd attempt overall, but the first attempt after taking your CIH Review Course. After failing the first time, I knew I needed more work on Toxicology and Ventilation. I found the TLV/BEI book and the ACGIH Ventilation Manual to be very helpful. I also watched a lot of YouTube videos to learn about different processes. The course also helped me strengthen my strengths. Thanks again!

TG

June 3, 2018
It is indeed a tough test! I used DataChem CIH software religiously every day for almost a year, for at least 2 hours a day. Take practice tests. I printed out the Bowen CIH questions and put them onto flash cards. I played the Bowen CIH game 2 to 4x a day; strive for 100%. I purchased the AIHA "Industrial Hygiene Reference and Study Guide. Read this book every chance you get and memorize the content, as much as you can. Know this book and Ace the test!! I took the Bowen online CIH class and then immediately took the classroom CIH version. Difficult topics become more transparent in the classroom. Read the ACGIH TLV book; know the TLV's of common toxicants [benzene, lead, etc] but read [and re-read] the Definitions and Notations section!!!! Know your strengths and weaknesses. My strengths were chemistry, noise, bio-hazards, and PPE; my weaknesses were radiation and ventilation. Bowen will help with both of these topics. I passed ASP, CSP and CIH first time because I was extremely well prepared. I used Bowen for all three tests. It is the Boy Scout motto: Be Prepared!!!!!!!!!!

KM

May 17, 2018
I passed! :) I cannot emphasize enough how valuable Bowen has been throughout the past few months (both the class and the premium resources). Although I took the CIH prep class in the summer of 2016, I didn’t actually start studying/preparing until January of this year and I can’t imagine how much more challenging it would have been without these resources to help keep me on track! Russ, thank you so much for putting together such a great course and study materials that made such a massive challenge be achievable and also for making me a better IH! Thanks also to Rick and Otto if they’re still out there! :)

JL

May 15, 2018
Thank you so much, Russ. I remember having some hesitation before signing up due to cost. I had already spent several hundred dollars on application fees, resources, and Datachem access. But in hindsight, your course was worth it! The study materials, quizzes, app, etc was my go-to for about 70% of my study time. If others ask, I will strongly recommend your course. It helps with the consolidation of resources and helps maximize your study time. One CIH recommended that I read Fundamentals of Industrial Hygiene cover-to-cover but I rarely learn that way. Thanks again!

KG

December 4, 2017
I posted before that I passed. What I didn't say was that this was my fourth attempt. My first was in 1996. That's right, when it was a two-day exam in a giant ballroom full of tables and people. I did not prepare very well (cocky) and did not fair well (oops). I was so upset that my next attempt was in 2006. Again I thought I now had 10 more years of experience and it was only a "short" exam on a computer now... how hard could it be... HARD!!!! Again scored a 64 with 66 being a passing score. Had I matured over the years? Of course..... not.... my next attempt was 2016. This time I knew it would be hard and I planned to study. I took a one-week crash course cram session three months before the exam. After the class, I realized how much I didn't know and the class offered no continuing support. I tried to study on my own, and three weeks before my exam date I had an emergency appendectomy and ended up scoring a 65, with passing being again 66. UGH!!!!! Then I was introduced to BOWEN. Here the class work being spread out over the 8-week period allowing for study, practice, questions, and commiseration with all of you and fostered a great atmosphere to prepare. Russ gave great advice on how to prepare and what to study.. You won't learn it by osmosis, you have to work at it. but the class structure, continuing study sessions, forums, practice questions, etc. gave me exactly what I needed to prepare, work hard, talk to you great people, and finally PASS!!!! THANK YOU ALL!!!!  and for those who didn't make it this time.... take it from me, you will make it. Just don't wait 10 years till your next attempt.

RR

December 1, 2017
The course was super helpful for narrowing my study to only the topics that mattered. As always, practice exams are very important - maybe even more important that review material. They helped me gauge my weaknesses and focus my study. The Bowen practice questions were similar in content, difficulty, and style to the real thing. Needless to say, I passed!
ERAU

DB

November 30, 2017
I passed [the CIH exam] and I wanted to say thanks so much for everything Russ. Your course was an amazing investment, and it really helped me understand what I needed to know. This is also my first online live course, and I was a little skeptical at first, and I think courses like this can only work when you have a dedicated instructor - which Russ is.  I also appreciate everyone in the forums posting all your questions and generating your discussions. Some of those materials really helped me a lot. This was a good experience for me. 

CH

November 29, 2017
A huge thank you to Russ for providing me with the fundamental resources in which to build upon in my preparation for the CIH exam. I had seen a post stating that someone felt that the Bowen CIH course only represented about 10% of their actual exam. I find this hard to believe as a recent successful candidate. Russ said himself, that the course is not the be all end all in preparing for the exam, however, it will get you pretty darn close, the rest is up to you. I promise you that is true if you fully comprehend the material that Russ has provided you with. My goal was to pass on the first try; therefore I put in around 1,200 hours of preparation for the exam dating back to February 2017. I truly appreciate his product. He has dedicated his career to advancing our profession and helping to create a better-rounded safety professional. Whether it is the CHMM, CSP or CIH, there are many professionals in our industry with credentials that can be tied back to Bowen EHS. If you effectively utilize all of the resources that he offers you will be very close to passing your exams, the last little bit to get over the threshold is still up to you.