Client Feedback: CIH Exam Courses

We love getting honest feedback from our clients. In addition to letting us know how we are doing, they let us know what worked or didn't work for them while preparing for their CIH exam.

Read on to find out more.

We are serious about maintaining the integrity of the CIH exam and the certification process. Please help us by not posting any specific exam questions or exam content in your comments. If you do, we will have to modify or remove your feedback. Thank you for respecting this.

JB

August 21, 2019
Passed the ASP last week, CSP today. I took the course with Patrick which was a huge help for the ASP. I completed many study exams from the vault, studied what I missed and also read up on what exactly the incorrect options really were. I read Brauer, made flashcards, re-watched the classes, and reviewed/studied like mad since the end of the class in July. Although a common theme was to skip the math, I worked really hard at the math and I think that helped me a lot with the ASP. I did flag the math and went back to it but had plenty of time and most came fairly easy from the practice. I jumped right back in for the CSP exam a week later and although I passed, it really was tough. Finished with 8 minutes to spare. Flagged the math, which there were not as many questions, but much more complicated, multiple-step problems. The topics go so much deeper than the ASP and more so than I expected. It really takes knowing and understanding the material. Lots of system and management questions. Just so glad it's over! Patrick, thanks so much for the job you did with the summer class, not sure what I would have done without it!

LC

August 14, 2019
I passed the CSP exam yesterday! Huge thanks to Patrick and the Bowen resources for helping me get through the study process and the exam. Once I was eligible to take the exam, I picked a date and stuck to it. This not only pushed me to study religiously up until the exam, but it also gave me something to look forward to. I studied for approximately 175 hours total spread out over three months before the exam. I completed the ASP/CSP review course with Patrick as my main study method. I watched all the lectures a second time about a week before the exam date and completed hundreds of questions in the study vault throughout the three months. I also completed all of the homework questions, final exam, pre-exam, and makeup exam three times in total. I read the Safety Engineers book by Brauer and kept a list of concepts and topics that I needed extra practice with. The actual exam took me about 5 hours and ten minutes to complete which included one break that lasted about 4 minutes. I read through all of the questions and answered any that I was absolutely sure of. Then I began going through the questions that I felt less confident with and was able to eliminate 2 answers on the majority of these to give myself a 50% chance of answering it correctly. There were a few questions involving concepts that I just had no clue about and I took educated guesses on these questions. Many thanks to Patrick and the Bowen resources for helping me pass!

SY

August 6, 2019
Passed my ASP exam this morning on the first try. I used the practice quizzes and the study vault questions until I was constantly scoring 45 out of 50 on the practice test. I'm going to try and complete the CSP in the next three weeks.

TM

May 30, 2019
Thank you so much, Russ!!!!! To say this [passing the CIH exam] is a relief is a huge understatement! This could not have been possible without your guidance. Your advice helped me so much!!!! Funny thing is that going through the exam, it felt so much more different this time. It was like a light bulb moment happened. I was reading the questions and it all just made sense. As I was doing a bit of self-reflection, I couldn’t believe how I had missed some key details on the very same questions previously. I don’t know what happened, but I’m glad it’s done. I have met a goal and I am a better person for it. This journey has definitely taught me a lesson in perseverance!! So I have managed to set yet another goal, and that is to successfully pass the CSP. But before I do that, I’m taking a few weeks off and enjoying some much-needed beach time. Thank you again Russ!! You have no idea how much you have helped me achieve this goal!!!! I look forward to seeing you or listening to you in the future!!! Take care!!

KP

May 24, 2019
I took my exam this morning, and I'm happy to have received a preliminary pass on my first try. Many thanks and appreciation to Russ, Rustin, and the team at Bowen EHS for putting together a very insightful and comprehensive review course for this exam. Your course (especially the study question vault) gave me a lot more confidence going into this! I think the best strategy that worked for me was to study a little every day (1-2 hours) for the past 4-5 months instead of cramming information in huge time blocks, reading the recommended literature from the first or second lecture, and definitely having a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast (Thanks for the tip Russ!). Thanks again and good luck to those taking this exam!   

TV

May 24, 2019
Thank you so much, Russell, Rustin and everyone who gave advice for taking the exam. This was a great course to prepare me. This was my first attempt, and I think what really helped was considering everyone's advice who had passed. What I did was develop a study plan, and stuck to it. I made it a priority for the last 6 months in my life, but did take planned breaks for family and fun! I reviewed the lectures, and even recorded myself and listened to them when I was traveling, etc. The practice exams and calculations were extremely helpful I think. I practiced until the calculations were easy, and I was doing the 50 question practice exam daily for about a month before the exam, with consistent scores in the 90s by the last few weeks...even got 100 a couple of times! Good luck to everyone still working toward it, your efforts are worth it!

SM

May 24, 2019
Thanks Russ,I will be recommending your prep course to everyone looking to take the exam. You have built an excellent program. I quickly went from totally intimidated of the calculations to still intimidated but much less so. And although I didn't expect to do as well as I did, I probably got 80% of the calculations correct without anything more than your course.

CT

April 17, 2019
I am very happy to report that I have passed the CIH exam on my first attempt. I took the Bowen CIH online course and concentrated my studying mainly on the provided course material (class slides + notes), study questions (even if I had the right answer I would look up at the answer provided for a complete explanation) and practice quizzes (all of them - several times) - all I wanted was a pass not admittance in med school ;-)  Thank you Bowen EHS Team!

CB

December 1, 2018
I received a different screen today than in the past "Preliminary Pass"!!! When I took the exam in the spring statistically I was within a couple of questions so that stung pretty good. I had attempted the exam on two previous attempts but hadn't really made good progress until attending the CIH review Russ and his team put together last spring. The value of studying for the CIH exam is honing on our craft; whether I passed the CIH or not, each time I attempted it the preparation provided a deeper and wider understanding that I was able to use in the profession.

JG

November 26, 2018
Russ and Staff,  As others have said eloquently, I will say simply; thank you! A well-planned review course based on the pillars of learning is a remarkable example of a true mentor. You and your support staff are truly amazing and should be proud of the services provided to further careers of professionals around the world. Thank you for assisting and being a part in my journey. I received a preliminary pass Saturday on the CIH examination.  

EM

November 24, 2018
Finally got the message…congrats….preliminary results! Thank you for your encouragement through the years. I am a much stronger person because of this process. I’m encouraging my daughter to take your course!

JE

November 24, 2018
I am happy and so relieved to report that I sat for the CIH exam today and received a preliminary pass! Such a huge relief! Thank you to everyone at Bowen but most especially Russ! You were a source of inspiration when I really thought I could not do it! I am recommending the course to everyone I know!!!